The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Why I Love Music

For close to 10 years now, I have been in an extremely serious relationship. Not with any girl (or guy for that matter), but with music. When I wanted to get pumped up for a race, I turned to music. When I was feeling down and wanted to lighten my mood (or revel in my sadness, whatever the case may be), I turned to music. When I met someone for the first time, I would ask him or her about music. Music has been a huge part of my life (even more so now), and I can’t imagine myself being more involved with anything else than I am involved with music.

But it wasn’t always this way. I know the exact moment I decided that I was going to be more than just a casual listener. It was when a friend of my sister put So Long & Thanks for All the Shoes by NOFX in her car’s CD player.

I know what some of you are thinking. NOFX? Really? Not Dylan or Coltrane or The Clash or Hendrix? Nope. It wasn’t until a few years later that I started listening to any of them (outside of my dad’s Highway 61 Revisited tape we would listen to in the car…which reminds me, I really need to buy that album). NOFX was my first taste in music that did not come from the radio. I hate to say this, but up until then I don’t even know if I had bought a single CD that I did not first hear on the radio. Once upon a time the radio was the end-all-be-all for music, now the music elite shuns it. But I digress.

From start to finish, So Long is pure entertainment. Topics include the decline of punk music and music in general, problems with government, even family issues; and yet it is all done with tongue stuck firmly in cheek. The overall message, at least as I felt when I first heard it, was, ‘This shit is happening all around us; let’s play music and make the best of it.” And so I did. I played music, I listen to music, now I even work for a record label. Music has become one of the most important things in my life, and oddly enough I have NOFX to thank for that.

October 4, 2006 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. It’s awesome to go back and pinpoint the moment that you fell in love with music. The one reason I can never completely disown blink-182 is because they got me to dive into a sea of better bands, and better music. I remember buying their live album and listening to it over and over on the floor in my room when I was 14, and then finding out that people who listened to them listened to bands like The Ataris and Strung Out. The Ataris led to Midtown who led to Taking Back Sunday and Brand New who led to Say Anything and on and on and on…

    Comment by Kyle | October 4, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

