The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Belmore Rankings: Week 6

After some data entering, number crunching, and formula adjustments, I give you my own patented college football rankings after five weeks of play. I’ll explain the flaws after the top 5:

  1. LSU (5-0, BSOS Rank: #39)
  2. Kentucky (5-0, BSOS Rank: #61)
  3. USC (4-0, BSOS Rank: #63)
  4. Oregon (4-1, BSOS Rank: #27)
  5. Nebraska (4-1, BSOS Rank: #30)

Now, there are still some obvious problems. Yes, I know numerous ranked teams lost yesterday, but that doesn’t equate to Kentucky being the number 2 team in the land. And Oregon just lost to California (who is #8 in my system), so why isn’t Cal higher? Formulas are a tricky thing. I’ll keep working on it this week and see if I can get a better one in place next week. The tweaks I made this week are still an improvement; remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Now for the teams playing the toughest schedules:

  1. Akron (2-3, BR: #55)
  2. Auburn (3-2, BR: #14)
  3. Washington (2-3, BR: #57)
  4. Stanford (1-3, BR: #92)
  5. Minnesota (1-4, BR: #96)

And the weakest schedules:

  1. Kansas (4-0, BR: #70)
  2. Purdue (5-0, BR: #68)
  3. Hawaii (5-0, BR: #61)
  4. Connecticut (5-0, BR: #51)
  5. Cincinnati (5-0, BR: #45)

None of those five teams have played anyone that currently has a winning record.

There might be a few more college football related posts today, but after that I’ll get back to some topics that have a more widespread interest.

September 30, 2007 - Posted by | Sports | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] your average poll, huh?  I like the way the number are working out (I did another tweak since last week), but I’m sure I’ll change it some more as the season goes […]

    Pingback by Belmore Rankings: Week 7 « The Daily Belmore | October 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

