The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

How Much Do We Really Value What We Watch?

In the current state of online media, how much do we really value what we’re watching?  I started thinking about while using my AppleTV to watch an old episode of The Office I had downloaded from the iTunes Store.

I bought said episode for $1.99.  I could have waited and purchased the season from Amazon for $31.99, but at the time the DVDs were not out, so I had no other choice (aside from bittorrent, but we’re talking legal options today).

Read that again.  I paid $1.99 for an episode because I wanted it right then.  Had I waited another few months, I could have gotten it for $1.28 (the price of the full season divided by how many episodes were included) had I just waited.  Was it really worth that extra 71 cents (at 156% of the cost) just to watch it immediately?

This comes into play in other facets.  We pay, roughly, $10 every time we go to a movie theater to watch a movie.  Is it really worth that much?  We can wait a few months and buy it for around $20, and then watch it as many times as we want.  Or we can rent it (in various forms, the most likely being from your cable or service provider for roughly $4), and watch it any time in a 1-5 day period.  Is it a little ridiculous for us to be paying so much for immediacy?

Yes, I understand that some movies just need to be seen in a theater.  And I do love the Cinerama for that.  But still, in this age of digital everything and ever-cheaper home theater systems, is it really worth it? With TV it is even worse; the only reason to buy something online is to have it immediately.  You don’t get a better item (in fact, the video quality is worse than a DVD), and it is crippled with copy protection.

I don’t know, maybe I’m preaching to the choir, or maybe my words are falling on deaf ears.  Whatever the case, I don’t ever plan on buying another online TV show or movie, as it is just a big scam.  I’ll continue to watch things on TV, buy DVDs, and (oh God, say it isn’t so!) download them for free (for a moral stand: I purchase any TV show seasons once they come out, such as Heroes, and I also have a DVR and a subscription to Netflix, so I don’t actually feel that I’m doing anything wrong…illegal, yes, morally wrong, no).

Sorry, had to get that one out there.  Feel free to leave your ideas and/or counterarguments in the comments.

October 12, 2007 - Posted by | Musings, Television | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

