The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

I’ll Be Honest, I Don’t Dig It

Brand New released an old demo today (well, not that old, it was a demo from their last release, The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me) on various online services (including iTunes and Amazon). The song, entitled (Fork And Knife), is a four minute slow, melodic, piano-driven tale of fleeting romance.

I’ll be honest, people, I don’t think it’s a great song. I honestly don’t even know if it was worth the 97 cents I paid for it. Yes, I love Brand New (they’re my favorite band), but this song just isn’t doing it for me. It sounds like a demo from their first album, heavily influenced by the likes of, oh, James Blunt.

Was this a bad decision? No, I don’t think so. This demo was widely distributed online, and has become somewhat of a fan favorite. They would be dumb not to try to make some money off of it. However, it doesn’t follow the progression the band has made (from pop punk to emo kings to full on rockasaurus). It sounds like any bland piano song your average overproduced one hit wonder could write. And it was clearly left off of The Devil And God for a reason. This isn’t who Brand New is (or ever was, from my account), and people shouldn’t be confused.

So if you want my advice, don’t bother. It’s nothing exciting, and not really part of the Brand New discography, if you want my opinion. Yeah, it’s a whopping dollar, but even then it leaves room for disapointment.

October 23, 2007 - Posted by | Music | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

