The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Toilet Rats

I was debating whether to share this story, but in the end I feel it is for the greater good. The word needs to get out so that when the other dozens of people in the city have to deal with this problem, they’ll be informed as to what to do.

On Saturday morning I awoke to the shocking site of a rat trying to climb out of my toilet. Now, as luck should have it, either due to the long swim or just being small (read: not New York City subway size), this was an impossible task, but that didn’t keep me from freaking the fuck out. (Okay, anyone who knows me knows that I don’t really “freak” out, but let’s just say I was greatly alarmed.)

What was the first thing I did? I got on Google, of course. I was lucky enough to come across this handy web site:

Rats live in sewers and can follow the food in pipes up to your toilet

  • Keep your kitchen sink rinsed clean and use garbage disposals as little as possible.
    • Rinse out your kitchen sink once or twice a month.
    • Use 1 cup of bleach (an alternative to using bleach, 1 cup of baking soda followed by 1 cup of vinegar) and rinse with boiling water.
  • Never throw grease down the drain.
  • Keep your toilet lid down when not in use.
  • If you find a rat in your toilet, flush it! (hint: squirt a little dishwashing liquid under the lid into the bowl, wait a couple of minutes then flush)

That’s right. Just flush it, and problem solved. Well, not quite. It took four flushes, with last time making use of the dishwashing liquid (I’ve heard that’s to poison the rat; I used it simply to make it hard for the little guy to climb anything), but eventually the job was done.

How might this happen, do you ask? Check this:

That’s how.  People have asked if it simply climbed up there from some other place in my apartment, but I don’t have any holes anywhere (trust me, I looked), nor any open cracks from doors or windows where it could have slipped through.  It was simply one of Seattle’s finest sewer rats trying to find a better place.

October 29, 2007 - Posted by | Musings, Video | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. That video!! Now it all makes sense! Still DE-sgusting.

    Comment by notten | October 30, 2007 | Reply

  2. And when you flush them with dish soap, their furry little bodies act as a bowl cleaner brush. Take advantage, nothing wrong or unusual seeing a sewer rat on occasion in your toilet in any big city.

    Comment by Sarg | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  3. We live in a small town, but with city sewers. I would just die if I sat down in the middle of the night
    and have that thing jump up at me.
    Of course, I’m sure the dog would find it before I did. Gross!
    Go, Cassy, Go!!!!!

    Comment by Mary Ann | February 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

