The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

I Was Lucky

Judging from reports around the city (and the entire Pacific Northwest), I made it out pretty lucky in today’s rainstorm. For those that don’t know, near-record rainfall has been cascading down in Seattle (from the P.I.):

By late afternoon Monday, nearly 6 billion gallons of rain — the rough equivalent of six Green Lakes — had fallen, making it the second-wettest day in Seattle history.

That’s a bit ridiculous. Now, I’m not saying I was in the biggest risk area, as I’ve seen much worse footage on TV than anything I’ve driven through today (with the exception of 25th Ave NE just north of NE 75th St; my friend’s Colin, Tony, and James live right across from a clogged drain that covered the entire street and came close to invading their house; lucky for them a Seattle Utilities crew came out and partially unclogged it so now only half of the street is a swimming pool). All I am saying is that I live on a basement unit of a building built into a hill, so the chances of flooding were a bit higher for myself than for, say, those of you living in second level or higher units. That’s all.

I mean, this could have been me:

“It felt like we were on the Titanic,” said Randy Carter, who awoke at 4 a.m. Monday to lights from utility trucks and the realization that his apartment in the Jackson Greens complex in North Seattle was flooded to evacuation levels with three feet of water.

And I feel for Mr. Carter, but I’m also thankful that I was not victim to that.

The only other thing I’m worried about now is how my parents are doing. They’re currently stuck down in Lincoln City, where the winds have taken out so many trees that there are no major routes out.  This picture, from KATU, was taken less than a mile from their beach house:

From KATU:

Highways 26, 6, 18 and 30 all were closed Monday morning, isolating coastal communities. Many areas lost power as winds measuring near 100 mph battered towns and building. Trees blew over, buildings sustained damage and debris blew down streets in Tillamook, where the Wilson River began flowing down the lanes of Highway 101, which was also closed in several locations.

“This storm is hitting the coast so hard, it’s not leaving any road open,” Department of Transportation spokeswoman Christine Miles said.

And:

Highway 26 linking the coast to the Willamette Valley was closed in the Coast Range due to treacherous conditions. Mudslides, downed trees and water over roadways also closed Highway 30 near the Columbia-Clatsop County line.

My mom called me last night to let me know they weren’t going to make it out before the storm so they were going to sit tight and wait it out. The problem is that the power is out all over the coast, so they can’t even get on their cell phones to call out.

So we’ll see. I’ll give you an update in the next few days once I talk to them.

December 3, 2007 - Posted by | Musings, News | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

