The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Comcast 1, Belmore 0

Well played, Comcast, well played.

As some of you may know, I had a fabulous plan to cancel my cable when my discounts ran out and move to an over the air HD antenna and various content from my AppleTV and Netflix. I thought it was foolproof. For sports, I could just head to Ryan’s and watch the game with him. I’m a genius, I thought. I’ll save $40 a month!

Then, it happened. The original plan was for Mr. Cable Man to come out Friday and change my service to basic cable (it was only $8 per month and would be cheaper in the end because I’d get a discount for having two services instead of just the Internet). So last night I’m flipping through, and what happens to be on? A great college basketball game on ESPN. And I watched it. And immediately I thought, what happens when Ryan’s not home and a game is on and I have nothing better to do?

ESPN HD. ESPN2 HD. TNT HD. NBA TV on Mojo HD. I flip through these channels religiously, especially now that basketball season is in full swing. How would I live without them?

So I deliberated. I talked to Kate. I talked to myself (actually, I do that a lot, but that’s another story). I finally decided to take the offer they had put on the table that only increased my bill by $8 from what I had been paying the first six months.

Here I am, hat in hand, saying well played, Comcast. Well played, indeed.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Musings, Television | ,

2 Comments »

  1. But you HATE Comcast! I guess you love visual entertainment more…

    Comment by Natalie | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. The Force is weak with you…

    Comment by Bernie Zimmermann | January 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

