The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Merlin Mann: What Makes for a Good Blog?

Merlin Mann posted an intriguing blog post over at 43 Folders the other day, outlining the key points to keep in mind when creating a blog. My personal favorite was the seventh point:

Good blogs make you want to start your own blog. At some point, everyone wants to kill the Buddha and make their own obsessions the focus. This is good. It means you care.

I liked this one because, well, it’s what happened to me. I spent so much time reading blogs (and, in my opinion, good blogs), that I thought to myself, “Hey, why can’t I do that?” And after a few failed attempts and a still failing revision, I’ve been pretty happy with the results.

I’ve always felt the point of a blog was twofold; to bring up topics that the writer is interested in, and to bring up topics that the reader is interested in. If you aren’t getting feedback, there’s no point in it being public. Blogs of those nature should stay as text files in your documents folder. But you also can’t be writing about things you know nothing about; this will only infuriate the readers after they constantly correct you. The happy medium is where it’s at, my friends.

And that brings me back to Merlin’s point. A good blog doesn’t just spur discussion. It causes the reader to want to discuss the topic so in depth that they have to go create their own blog because a simple comment on a post just won’t do. It’s as good goal to strive for, and I hope that someday (however unlikely) I’ll be able to achieve that.

If you’re a blogger, you should definitely take the time to read the rest of Merlin’s post. If 10% of the bad blogs out there took that advice, we’d have a much more interesting Internet.

August 21, 2008 - Posted by | Blogroll, Musings | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

