The Daily Belmore

opinions, links, and more…

Why College is good for the NBA (and society in general)

To all those thinking it is unfair for the NBA to require a minimum of one year of college before becoming eligible for employment (it is a business, after all), I have this short section from Jack McCallum’s wonderful book, Seven Seconds or Less: My Season on the Bench with the Runnin’ and Gunnin’ Phoenix Suns:

One day [Amare] Stoudemire came in wearing that Rolling Stones T-shirt bearing the image of a cartoon figure sticking out his tongue, the cover of Sticky Fingers.

“Now, STAT [Stand Tall and Talented, one of Stoudemire’s nicknames], tell me,” says [assistant coach Alvin] Gentry, “can you name one single Rolling Stones song?”

“Can’t help you, Chief,” said Stoudemire immediately.

On another day, he was wearing a T-shirt bearing the likeness of a 1930s Time cover on which Al Copone appeared.

“What’s with you and Capone?” I ask him.

“Don’t know anything about him,” Stoudemire answers, “except that he was a bad guy.”

I gave him a one-minute primer on Capone, Chicago, and Prohibition.

“Damn,” he said. “There was a time drinking was illegal?”

I rest my case.

February 23, 2009 - Posted by | Sports | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Haha I can imagine the majority of people wearing that Capone shirt have no idea what he did or who he was, other than that he was “bad”.

    Comment by Alex | February 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Amazing, but not all that surprising. I think I’m more impressed that we don’t hear about more of them not make it through the first year. Although, I’m sure the athletic depts. have that shit streamlined for those guys.

    Comment by Ben | March 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

